Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 Young Artist’s Harp Competition!

Harpists from around the world competed in an online format at the 2020 Young Artist’s Harp Competition this year.  

Emerging Artist Division

First Place:  Janice Hur, South Korea

(Rana Park, Teacher)

Second Place (tie):  Subin Lee, South Korea

(Elizabeth Hainen, Teacher)

Second Place (tie):  Yuet Kan, Hong Kong

  (Yeung Lau Yee, Teacher)

Third Place:  Lauren Swain, United States

(Carol McClure, Teacher)

New Artist Division

First Place:  Sophia Jho, United States

(Gretchen Van Hoesen, Teacher)

Second Place:  Joshua Ho, United States

(Hee Jin Yoon and Jo Ann Turovsky)

Third Place:  Jocelyn Chang, United States

(Melissa Dvorak, Teacher)

Preparatory Division

Honorable Mention:  Emma Valdez, United States

(Elena Mashkovtseva, Teacher)

Our judges this year were Heidi Bearcroft, Principal Harp of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra; Jaymee Haefner, Director of Undergraduate Studies and Assistant Professor of Harp at the University of North Texas; Andrea Mumm, Principal Harp of the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra and the Colorado Music Festival; and Angela Schwarzkopf, Course Instructor at the University of Toronto and the Glenn Gould School of Music, and Harp Instructor at McMaster University.